now, when i hear the term flexitarian, i get this mental image:
obviously, i am right on the money. this man has got to be all over the beef enchiladas and protein shakes. but actually, flexitarians, according to what i've found, are nothing more than "meat restrictors." this is to say, meat is generally avoided and in the following order:
1. red meat (never eaten/rarely eaten)
2. poultry and fish (occasionally eaten)
against my own desire and intentions, i think i'm flexing the ol' flexitarian muscle here in gaulois country. i think meat is something i may have to be prepared to eat if we are invited out. while most people are understanding and accommodating, as i mentioned above, others are not. i won't even go into the difficulty of requesting a vegetarian meal in a french restaurant! nonetheless, i intend to stick to my veggie ways within the confines of my home (last night i made couscous stuffed artichokes with french fries...DIVINE!!!) but lest i become one of those strange women who never goes outside, i think i had better make some big decisions fast.
p.s. i can't believe that in less that six months i caved! what a weenie. in my defense, however, if i know where the meat is coming from (i.e. fished/hunted by a friend, locally grown and butchered, free-range, organic, etc.) i feel like i have more of a choice as to whether or not i will consume it. i also am not just on the rampage consuming meat like a half-starved zombie (no, i am not talking about the olsen twins, either). helas, here are my musings on my failed stint as a vegetarian, tome deux.
No comments:
Post a Comment