Tuesday, March 30, 2010

bad habits



worse than my excessive drinking, swearing, and fingernail biting is my habit of spying on my neighbors. i'm sitting here minding my own business spying on my neighbor's pets out of the living room window. i think this is an inherent behavior that i acquired from years spent in my youth with my maternal grandmother (whom we now know is just plain cuckoo). she used to peek out the blinds at the neighbors to see who the smith's son was dating-"oh my, like what the cat's dragged home this time! i wonder what his parents think of her"-and probably still does for that matter. in any case, as i was saying, i was just sitting here minding my own beeswax when i noticed a fight break out across the street. it was one of those interspecies brawls that tends to be accompanied by lots of moaning and hissing. what i can never figure out though, is how dogs don't smarten up enough to just leave pissy cats alone?!?! our dog used to do that with one of our cats, and it always ended poorly for the poor little poodle (to clarify: she's not really a poodle, i just use that to insult her when she's been bad-i feel that calling a dog a poodle is probably the equivalent of calling a woman a bitch). i'm not really in favor of degrading anyone, but sometimes people (or pups) need to be put in their places. perhaps this is why cats are so rough on canines. however, i just somehow always get the impression that they feel morally superior to their four-legged counter parts, and this hurts my feelings for dogs. i prefer to see interspecies "canoodling" as a good friend of mine calls it; fortunately one of our feline friends is much more tolerant and diverse enough to put up with the poodle. here is a shot of them loving it up:

i wonder if it is solidarity because they are both black and big eared. whatever the case may be, they seem to be an exception the "fighting like cats and dogs" rule.

Sunday, March 28, 2010

i want to dance naked like a pagan!!!


http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x5udbj_sigur-ros-gobbledigook_music

this song is not only my most adored sigur ros song ever, but the mere thought of dashing through the woods in my tennis shoes and nothing else is very tempting in this fine spring weather. i might need it to warm up a few more degrees before actually considering doing this, but it would be divine.

i watch this video and the music makes me happy. the naked, dancing human bodies are not put on display in a fashion that strikes me as vulgar, and somewhere deep inside me, my pagan desires stir. i think of cassandra in dodie smith's i capture the castle celebrating the summer solstice up on the mound near belmotte tower, and i too, want to gather wildflowers, light a bonfire, sing, dance and celebrate life.

new blog followers!!!

this is how i feel every time i log on to my blog only to see that i have gained yet another loyal follower! so far i'm at 8. considering the fact that i am neither interesting nor do i know more than about 50 people, i am quite pleased with this success. however, one follower is a double, and several of them follow anonymously (which drives me crazy!)...hypocritical, i know, right? here i am, ms. mystery blogger herself, and yet i can't stand to not know who half of my followers are. it's sheer torment. so, dear anonymous blog followers, thank you for your readership, but WHO ARE YOU?

who are any of us, really? with all of our social networking tools these days we can reshape and refashion ourselves into just about anyone we feel like being. at times it feels like another mask for us to hide behind, but generally i feel that i can express myself much more freely here than i could in any other professional or sometimes private setting. most of the time though, i feel like i did when i was 8 and i would write in my journal about how much i love joey mcintyre from the new kids on the block or antonio saboto jr. from general hospital. i even went to the trouble of sending "jagger" (that was his name on the show) a fan letter telling him how amazing i thought he was and how much i wished i could meet him. i think i got one of those cheesy pre-signed photos back...it probably got tossed when i realized that soaps were stupid and muscly men weren't such hot stuff after all.
what can i say? this was also at the time that i was in love with clark kent off of the "new" superman series...people can change.
in any case, my blog is my new diary and somedays i feel 8 again (writing about heath ledger, or even how consumed i've become with this whole tiger woods scandal!)-most of the time though, i feel slightly more clued in as far as politics and social issues go. when i was 8, i just wanted to save the animals. now i have a more diverse selection on my social palate.

now that i've had my crowning glory of additional blogsters for the weekend, i'm off to clean some house and finish up a little renovation here and there. with any luck the house will be on the market this week...and there are already rumors that people are interested. cross your fingers fellow bloggies!

Friday, March 26, 2010

flick it for social action!

it's earth hour day--well, almost! hooray!!! i get very excited about social action, and i was in fact, prompted to write one of my first ever letters to the editor today due to the fact that i received no response from our podunk community about my suggestion to promote earth hour here this year. additionally, they sent out letters to everyone yesterday stating that the recycling program in our town is not making enough money and will either require a tax hike or they will do away with it. WTF?!?! i incorporated these two issues into my letter emphasizing the fact that if we do not take care of what we have on this earth now, it will be gone forever. i'm sure that this idea will go over well in a community that largely believes in the second coming and welcomes the end of the world as the rapture. eek. suffice it to say, ours will likely be the only house in the community that will flick the lights off tomorrow in celebration of earth hour. i will do it gladly, however, and pride myself on my moral superiority. ;) we have company coming and i have already forewarned them of this event...i think we'll make it interesting for their children by lighting the chimenea out back and toasting marshmallows (weather permitting).
i'm feeling VERY socially inclined as of late. i think it's a combination of factors:

1. we just watched "capitalism: a love story." nothing fills me with inspiration faster than leftist propaganda.

2. all of this hype (not to mention the bitching and moaning) surrounding the health care bill/law. even my dad (he's very conservative) feels that this law infringes upon his freedom. hmmm. to him, and to every other person who utilizes this excuse, i posit the question: how is being in a financial situation that does not allow a person to even afford health care constitute freedom? i can't afford it. my HR rep at Fantastic University (FU!) told me straight up in her most legit street lingo, "girl, you can apply for insurance, but there's no way you can afford it on your payroll." dear conservatives, you're right: i don't deserve proper health care, or peace of mind that if some malheur befalls me i would receive appropriate care. thank you for your wisdom and good sense! sincerely, me. ugh. i just can't even go there right now.

3. i've been searching for "real jobs" surrounding our impending move, and the majority of the ones that really intrigue me are in social/ethical fields of work. fair trade, sustainability, etc. i would love to go to work everyday knowing that i was having a positive impact on my own personal, local nucleus as well as the earth as a bigger picture, too.

4. i've been (re)reading a bunch of feminist lit lately. some new, some old, but all notable in that they are rekindling the fire in my belly that inspired the title of this blog in the first place...i still want that revolution! worthy of mention here are: atwood's the handmaid's tale and the edible woman, ozeki's my year of meats, dodie smith's i capture the castle (not "feminist" per se, but has many feminist elements/themes-also just a fabulous read), plath's the bell jar, piercy's woman on the edge of time, and satrapi's persepolis.

in all, it's been a pretty grim week on the home-front due to a loss in our family, but despite all of this, i am feeling oddly optimistic. perhaps it is spring peeking up at me and smiling through the patches of daffodils cropping up all over the lawn, or the feeling of sticking it to the man (no matter how small the action is) in order to make my voice heard, or even still it is possibly the voices of previous revolutionary women speaking to me through their powerful works, encouraging me to trudge onward, uphill, head down but determined that things will change. things must change. and so, i sign off this evening lighter in heart and spirit; looking forward to the simple action that will make my voice part of the bigger picture tomorrow as i tuck my chin down and trudge on towards change. when i flick out the lights tomorrow, i will be thinking: "TURN THAT SHIT UP!!!" http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7eZAqMYat-0&feature=fvst

Sunday, March 21, 2010

old dan tucker

i've been pondering my survival skills since thursday. the weather was beautiful: sunny, warm, a light breeze. i felt it was perfect to start planning for the big garage sale that i've needed to have before moving. so being miss organization, i placed an ad in the classifieds (now i'm out a whole $3.50!), put up signs in the yard, hauled all of my things out and got the garage set up for saturday morning. enter my darling husband who came home from work and asked me "don't you know it's supposed to get cold and snow this weekend?" crap. well, no, i didn't know. how could that be? it's late march and the weather was perfect...there was no way! little did i know. in any case, i carried on hoping for and expecting the best. friday began well, too. balmy, a little gray, but still nice and springy. then the wind started up. then the rain started to fall. then the temperature dropped. and then the precipitation turned to sleet and snow. double crap! so i crafted up a little sign to let the local yokels know that i would reschedule when the weather got warmer (what?! it was cold and i was not prepared to sit in the garage and wait around on people that might or might not show up with no heat!). the crazy thing is, as i was posting the sign, two dingleberries stopped to ask if i was still having the sale. it's crazy how sales bring people out of the woodwork in search of a good deal. however, the real issue that has been troubling me is still the fact that if this were 1848 and i were travelling on the oregon trail, i would have probably killed off my entire party due to my inability to read the forecast. :( we would have been trapped in the snow like those poor children in david laskin's children's blizzard. i realize that this is really not that big of a deal, but the thought just keeps nagging at me that i am perhaps not evolutionarily sound...just cross your fingers that i never set out in my car when there is a chance of snow in the forecast!

it's a gangsta life


this is me. well, actually, THIS --> is michelle pfeifer from the 1995 smash hit (or maybe not) dangerous minds. my point is, teaching is hard, and it's not all days filled with neurotic students like cuckoo chanel who take ten minutes to select a desk that is suitable enough for them to place their scrawny little bird buns upon. in other words, i'm not doris day everyday. some days, i'm like pfeifer over here: a kick-ass lady who doesn't hesitate to use my past karate knowledge to put my students in their place.

this brings to mind one particular "gangsta" incident in my experiences...

i had a student a few semesters ago who looked like this:



so this student--we'll just call him "so-so" because he was really only so-so at everything, including being so-so intimidating and so-so infuriating! so-so showed up for the last 3 minutes of class one day when an assignment was due. now keep in mind, if you are not in my class, i count you absent. if you are absent with no valid reason, i won't accept your homework. them's the rules pardner!


so-so tried telling me how vital it was that he turn in this assignment, but i remained firm telling him that i couldn't simply start bending the rules here and there for people or there would be no point in having the rules at all. mind you, so-so's reason for missing class that day was that his alarm clock did not go off due to a power outage. boo-hoo! class started at 12:30! come on!

long story short, so-so and i went 'round and 'round. first he tried flattering me, but when he saw that my affections could not be bought, he got angry and belligerent. he informed me that while i was "a nice girl in most cases" that i was "being a real bitch on this account." now, i don't know about any of my other feminist cohorts out there (wink! wink!) but simply being called a "nice girl" by someone who is supposed to have a minimum of respect for me pushed me over the edge. for that to be followed by "bitch" was too much.

i invited so-so to come with me to plead his case to my superior. he refused stating that he was double parked outside and couldn't afford a ticket.
so-so's offenses just kept growing. double parked? it is a one-way, single-lane street out there! how dare he! additionally, it kept flitting through my mind that this young man had not only caused problems in my own class throughout the semester, he had intimidated two of my colleagues previously.

i took it upon myself to have so-so removed from my class. i didn't feel that i (or anyone else for that matter) should be treated in such a way. from here, the plot thickens. my direct supervisor backed me fully. so-so was sent notification to not come to my class and not have any contact with me whatsoever. either he didn't check his e-mail, simply doesn't know how to read, or thought that the notification was an idle threat, he showed back up to class. he was escorted out. did i mention that this is because i filed a formal complaint. well, i did.

i guess this didn't set too well with so-so and he wrote a response statement talking about his confusion and dismay at my overreaction. things seemed to be going well, however, and it looked like so-so was going to be permanently removed from my class...until it was discovered that so-so's family gave oodles and buckets of moolah to support my place of work. so that's why he felt so entitled! the politics of this all threw a monkey wrench in the sense of justice that i had been feeling. instead of being punished like any other "normal" (and by normal i mean, poor/working class) schmuck, so-so was given the option to drop my class and switch his program of study. what a kick in the balls!

the icing on this bitter cake was that as i walked to my car one evening, so-so pulled up at a stop sign where i was crossing the street (no, he didn't try to gun me down, but i bet he was thinking about it!). i didn't know it was him until he rolled down his tinted window and hollered: "it's okay, you know! it all worked out for the best, anyway!" oh the audacity! i just kept walking and ignored him, although i really wanted to go AWOL and jump of the hood of his car and kick in his windshield.

did i mention that so-so was rolling in a late model c-class benz? sunroof, alloy wheels, hood ornament! the outrage.


i was disgusted by his decadence and flamboyance (generally i like flamboyant folks, but not when it's simply to show off their goods!). all i could think of was NTM's "ma benz," which i will leave you with for your listening pleasure while so-so is out there somewhere this morning probably nursing a massive hangover and trying to figure out how to buy his way out of any date-rape related crimes he may have committed over the weekend.

Saturday, March 20, 2010

I'm No Heroine


i'm feeling particularly inspired today despite the cold, spring storm that rolled through these parts yesterday.



this is an oldie, but a goody:

i'm no heroine

ani di franco

you think I wouldn't have him
unless I could have him by the balls
you think I just dish it out
you don't think I take it at all
you think I am stronger
you think I walk taller than the rest
you think I'm usually wearing the pants
just 'cause I rarely wear a dress

well...

when you look at me
you see my purpose,
see my pride
you think I just saddle up my anger
and ride and ride and ride
you think I stand so firm
you think I sit so high on my trusty steed
let me tell you
I'm usually face down on the ground
when there's a stampede

I'm no heroine
at least, not last time I checked
I'm too easy to roll over
I'm too easy to wreck
I just write about
what I should have done
I just sing
what I wish I could say
and hope somewhere
some woman hears my music
and it helps her through her day

'cause some guy designed
these shoes I use to walk around
some big man's business turns a profit
every time I lay my money down
some guy designed the room I'm standing in
another built it with his own tools
who says I like right angles?
these are not my laws
there are not my rules

I'm no heroine
I still answer to the other half of the race
I don't fool myself
like I fool you
I don't have the power
we just don't run this place



p.s. i get to see her in concert soon. na nee na nee boo-boo!

I'm Ulrich von Leichtenstein, from Guilderland, and these are my faithful squires.


i don't get too sappy about stars and celebrity goo, but i miss heath ledger...i mean, it's not like i knew the man personally, but i remember seeing him for the first time when he hit the american silver screen in the 1999 teen hit 10 things i hate about you. whew! did i have a crush?! i'm reminiscing today because as we work on house projects we have a knight's tale on in the background. what a fun, fabulous film! in virtually every role he played he was phenomenal--a good actor, and then that whore mary-kate (or was it ashley) olsen ruined him. c'est la vie, i suppose. in any case, it was a great loss to the acting community and to me. i think from here i will switch films and put on the four feathers, or some other golden ledger nugget.

Monday, March 15, 2010

tasty morsels!!!


ah, spring break! a few days to myself filled with grading papers, working on the house (yes, still) and getting inspired cooking!

i usually let my man do the cooking-it's a simple fact of nature that men are better cooks than women-but tonight i felt inspired. so i whipped up some stuffed portobella mushrooms, corn on the cob, and fresh asparagus...all of this was topped off with some organic wine and french cantal cheese. dessert will probably be greek honey yogurt and raspberries. :) yum!

for the fellow veggies out there (or simply those curious about new cuisine) here's the recipe:

1. clean and prepare the portobella mushrooms (keep the inside/stems to mix w/ the other veggies.

2. in a small pot soak 1 c. of quinoa in 1 1/2 c. of cold water for 15 minutes. then rinse (in a fine mesh strainer) and put the quinoa back into the pot with another 1 1/2 c. of water. bring to a boil and then simmer 15 mins.

3. in a deep skillet heat some vegetable oil/olive oil and sauté with 2 garlic cloves. stir in chopped red pepper and fresh or frozen spinach. then mix in the quinoa.

4. spoon the veggie/quinoa mix into the portobellas and grill 10-15 minutes.

5. while grilling the mushrooms, toss on some ears of corn. in another skillet, heat some grapeseed oil/olive oil and almond slivers. toss in a small bunch of fresh asparagus (1/2 lb.) and cook until tender. if you time it right, this should coincide with the mushrooms and corn.

6. serve it up with some good wine (homemade bread would make this filling meal even more delicious!) and cheese.

7. top it off with some tasty yogurt and fruit for dessert.

DEEEE-LISH!

Thursday, March 11, 2010

PETA = Perverse Exploitation of T & A


i've been a little lazy (actually, just too damn busy) lately, but i have for you a response (with my comments/afterthoughts in red) from PETA regarding the complaint i lodged with them vis à vis their blatant sexism and exploitation of the human body:

Dear étudiante enragée,

Thank you for your letter to PETA. I hope that you’ll allow me to explain the thoughts behind some of our tactics. by all means, i'd love to hear it!

PETA’s purpose is to stop animal suffering, and we use all available opportunities to reach millions of people with powerful messages. so, let me get this straight: animal suffering is wrong, but perpetuation of female disempowerment is acceptable? We have found that people do pay more attention to our more provocative actions, and we consider the public’s attention to be extremely important. does it not matter that people are paying attention for the WRONG REASONS?!?! Sometimes this requires tactics—like naked marches and colorful ad campaigns—that some people find outrageous or even “rude,” but part of our job is to grab people’s attention and even shock them in order to initiate discussion, debate, questioning of the status quo, and, of course, action. maybe i should start going to class naked in order to get my students to pay attention! t & a is much more fascinating to pervs than social issues. come on, PETA! hmm, what kind of discussion and debate does this inspire? action, i can guess, is a bunch of horny men beatin' it thinking about women chopped up like veal. sexy. The current situation is critical for billions of animals, and our goal is to make the public think about the issues. again, animals are MORE important than humans? can we not fight multiple battles at once? it seems a moot point to me to fight for animal rights if we cannot simultaneously struggle for the ethical treatment of half of the world's population as well.

Unfortunately, getting the animal rights message to the public is not always easy and straightforward. right. it's too hard to give people facts about the inhumane conditions of factory farms and disgusting practices of slaughterhouses. i concede, i am unaffected by the "meet your meat" films. hardy har har. i call your b.s. here. Unlike our opposition, which is mostly composed of wealthy industries and corporations, PETA must rely on getting free “advertising” through media coverage. so all of the celebrities who endorse PETA don't contribute any monetary funds to you? alec baldwin? natalie portman? pam anderson and her girls? hmm... We often do outrageous things to get the word out about animal abuse, because sadly, the media usually do not consider the facts alone “interesting” enough to cover. which is why stephen colbert recently invited jonathan safran foer on his show for his new book "eating animals." i realize that these topics have become trendy because of folks like foer, michael pollan, and eric schlosser, but there are many out there who get the message. Colorful and controversial gimmicks, on the other hand, consistently grab headlines, thereby bringing the animal rights message to audiences around the country and, often, the world. "colorful" seems to be a euphemism for "highly sexualized" or perhaps even "misogynistic." take a look at these PETA ads for their "color." i especially like the images of scantily clad women in full makeup looking lustfully into the camera with the words "shackled, beaten, abused" accompanying them. in a day and age where violence against women is commonplace (think it isn't? what about poor chelsea king from california last week?), there is nothing more shameful than pairing sex and violence in a way that turns people on. these ads may shock those who are already informed, but essentially, PETA is preaching to the choir. any hardcore meat eater will look at those photos and see nothing but a homonid that is theirs for the taking. way to persuade and make a point PETA.

Although PETA has been a leader in creating “buzz” to support our cause, we aren’t alone in recognizing its value. According to Brett Gosper, former CEO of Euro RSCG Wnek Gosper, an advertising firm which created a controversial anti-racism campaign, “If your communication is selling a cause, then shock tactics may not just be an option, they may be essential. PETA doesn't use "shock tactics." it uses good old fashioned sex. and while sex may sell, it's selling the wrong message in these ads. Budgets on cause-related work are so low that it is imperative for the media to relay your communication and multiply its visibility. Media won’t do this out of the goodness of their hearts. The more controversial the advertising, the more space it will get.” right. like i said before, i know who PETA's big name endorsers are. i doubt they are lacking funds, especially if we were to compare their budgets to similar causes and more holistic, grassroots organizations.

We wish that that weren’t the case. We would much prefer to do things without the gimmicks—if only it worked. i bet. it's probably pretty nice to get attention from all over due to the sexually appealing women (oh, excuse me, and the OCCASIONAL token men) you feature in your ads. We’d like nothing better than to be able to show the media videos of factory farms, fur farms, and animals in laboratories and have them find it newsworthy enough to cover. But they don’t. what about the AP? NPR? there are worthy news sites out there. if you make an effort, someone will pick up on it and give you the coverage you deserve. i think, however, that you may prefer the mainstream coverage despite the effects of it on the advancement of women. However, when we attach a gimmick, that very same animal abuse ends up in newspapers and on televisions nationwide. Experience has taught us that provocative and controversial campaigns make the difference between keeping important yet depressing subjects invisible and having them widely seen. corny cop out. The alternative is to be ignored in the torrent of tabloid-style stories that dominate the popular press. right again! i forget, PETA has such a wonderfully respectable reputation. any organization that utilizes pam anderson as a key spokesperson should be taken very seriously.

However, PETA does make a point of having something for all tastes, from conservative to radical and from tasteless to refined, and this approach has proved amazingly successful—in the quarter-century since PETA was first founded, it has grown into the largest animal rights group in the world, with more than 2 million members and supporters worldwide. that's cool. where are the tasteful, refined ads again?

PETA has exposed horrific cruelty in animal laboratories, leading to canceled funding, closed facilities, and hundreds of charges filed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture; convinced cosmetics companies to stop cruel product tests on animals; drawn international attention to what happens to animals in the food, fur, and entertainment industries; closed the largest horse-slaughtering operation in North America; convinced designers to stop using fur; cleaned up substandard animal shelters; helped schools find alternatives to dissection; provided information on vegetarianism, companion-animal care, and countless other issues to millions of people; and been responsible for the first successful prosecution of an animal experimenter under anti-cruelty laws. neat. i'm just gonna come out and say it, 'cause it sounds like you're fishing for a compliment here PETA: you guys are amazing-and under appreciated. i think we should forget about other non-profit organizations (like human rights watch) and even ethically based small corporations (equal exchange...) because their tactics are not as "colorful" and daring as yours. oh mighty PETA, show us the error of our ways!

Some of the above feats were accomplished by months of undercover investigation, careful documentation, and a tireless pursuit of justice through the courts and others by colorful stunts and campaigns that drew international media coverage. Please visit http://www.PETA.org/about to learn more about our vital efforts in behalf of animals everywhere. i've been to your damned site. that's what provoked my initial e-mail. thanks for the canned response, it's super heartfelt!

Thank you again for giving us the chance to explain the thoughts behind our tactics. oh yeah, i'm so glad we had this talk. i feel so convinced. We hope that even though we may not always agree on all points, we can still work together on those ones that we do agree on. uh, i don't agree with the KKK on everything (anything for that matter) or the phelps clan either-and i sure as hell don't work with them. so, while i can respect your struggle for the ethical treatment of animals, if you can't also respect the ethical treatment of my fellow humans, i don't think i really wanna be doin' business with ya anyway.

Sincerely,

Laura McCaul (wait a sec?!!? a woman wrote this? sheesh! that's like sarah palin saying she's a feminist. ugh.)

Correspondence Assistant

PETA Foundation

Please donate today i think not. i'll give my money to "endagered species chocolate" or the ASPCA instead. thanks, though!

Saturday, March 6, 2010

tick tock! tick tock! tick tock!



no, that is not the sound of my biological clock tick-tocking away. i just realized that NEXT sunday, march 14th is the day that daylight savings time begins this year. oy vey! didn't we just fall back? this is insanity. that extra hour does come in handy in the evening on the drive home or when you want to go for a bike ride, etc. but i need all the extra hours of zzz's i can get lately.

on top of this, i am feeling befuddled by the true origins of DST. the nasa website credits ben franklin originally, but i've also heard that this began more formally after WWI. yet another site credits LBJ with the DST act of '66 which created the enactment of DST through october. and of late, GW Bush extended that time until november. why does everyone want in on trying to control time? it's all just an illusion, anyway!

my husband has this theory that we should only spring forward a half an hour and consequently only fall back a half an hour in order to keep closer time with the sun. in some respects i agree. we have grown only too accustomed to living outside of realm of solar time. this leads to problems with overuse of energy (lights, etc.), more pollution, and populations of people who are out of synch with their bodies and natural time. i'm beginning to think that it's perhaps high time to do away with DST all together.

thoughts? opinions? suggestions?

Thursday, March 4, 2010

i'm here, i'm queer!

i'm so sad and angry this evening that i am having trouble forming coherent thoughts. i am a firm believer in and supporter of the genderqueer movement.

many of my close friends and family are part of the glbtq community. i have worked with pflag. i am aware of the existence of the phelps family-- and have encountered them, unfortunately, on one too many occasions.

however, it never ceases to disturb and sadden me when hate crimes occur. i can recall when matthew shephard was brutally beaten and left for dead. and yet again, only yesterday, a man in a metropolitan city near here was stabbed to death and burned in his home because of who he was: an hiv positive "gender queer" individual who did not fit the prescribed role assigned to him by society. jesus christ.

i don't understand all of this hate and discomfort surrounding the glbtq community. i really don't. if you don't like gay people, fine. just leave them alone. i promise you, they will not shower rainbow dust on you and turn you into a sequined jumpsuit. what i don't understand is how it is "socially unacceptable" to be a racist in this country, but hatred towards gays, lesbians, and other members of the "queer" community is still okay with people? we are the kind of nation that will stand for this? i am disheartened.

we all get one go 'round on this big, bouncy, blue ball we call home and life's too short to go killing people that we don't like. if i killed every asshole that drives a v-12 pick-up truck or who sports the rebel flag, i would be no better than they are--by which i do not mean that anyone in the glbtq community is "less than" the people who so violently attack them; i just simply cannot believe that in 2010 we are still fighting for all humans to be considered equally valuable. we are supposed to be a forward-thinking, well developed country. one look in the newspaper, though, turns my stomach and causes me to wonder if i am reading headlines from a liberated world where people are safe and free, or if these headlines are not better suited for one of those other countries we like to demonize and deem inferior to us. disappointed and disgusted. and as always, proud to be a member of/supporter of/lover of the glbtq community.